Message from the President

Invitation to the 2017 NARST International Conference The 2017 conference is fast approaching and, with your help, I believe this conference will be another great success! The 2017 conference will be held at the Grand Hyatt San Antonio, San Antonio, Texas from April 22-25, 2017. The theme is Glocalization and Sustainability of Science Education Research […]


Message from the Immediate Past President

  This report covers the period from January 2016 to May 25, 2016. It includes my term as NARST President and NARST Immediate Past President. As the President of NARST, I conferred with the President-elect and the Immediate Past President and, many times, the Executive Director. Hence, recommendations were made and agendas offered to the […]

March for Science

Katherine McNeill & Angela Calabrese Barton On April 22, 2017 the March for Science occurred in over 600 cities around the world to defend the role of science in policy, society and education. NARST was one of more than a hundred organizations that officially joined this partnership through an Memorandum of Understanding in support of…

Elections Committee

Many thanks to those who self-nominated or nominated others for the positions of President-Elect, Board Directors, and Secretary/Treasurer for the 2016-17 NARST elections to be held in January/February 2017. It is time to select a Graduate Student Representative for the NARST Board. The NARST Graduate Student Representative is a 2-year appointed position to serve on […]

Equity and Ethics Committee

The Equity and Ethics (E&E) Committee is excited to update you on some of the highlights from the NARST 2016 annual international conference. First, we would like to welcome our new committee members: Senetta Bancroft, Rekha Koul, Lizette Ramos, and Melody Russell. And we want to thank our former chair, Jerome Shaw, for his wonderful […]

International Committee

  The International Committee is pleased to welcome four new members: Shirly Avargil (Bar-Ilan University, Israel ), Dante Cisterna (Pontifical Catholic University of Chile), Hyewon Jang (Harvard University), and Rojjana Klechaya (Srinakharinwirot University, Thailand). In May 2016, three rotating sub-committees, each consisting of 5 members, were formed to manage the committee’s main programs: a) NARST International Committee […]

Publications Advisory Committee

The Publications Advisory Committee (PAC) expresses appreciation to the following outgoing committee members for their substantial contributions: Gillian Roehrig (co-chair), Gayle Buck, Julie Bianchini, Amelia Wenk Gotwals, and Wardell Powell (graduate student member). We welcome the following new members: Andrea Bierema, Eli Tucker-Raymond, Ron Gray, and Ozden Sengul (graduate student member). In the first half […]